0
Completed

[v2] make "toggle resize tooltip" ation permanent

Robert VASILE 2 years ago • updated 2 years ago 2

apparently in [v2.0.5 Beta] the "resize tooltip" is toggled at window/viewport resize for just a limited period of time


since this extension is useful mainly in UI development and , it should toggle the "resize tooltip" for good, at any following moment when the widow/viewport size is changed

Answer

Answer
Completed

Hello Robert,


The "Toggle resize tooltip" button from the drop-down menu only enables (or disables) the tooltip for the current tab and only until you refresh the page or navigate to another page.

However, there is an option to permanently enable the tooltip for all pages. Here's how it's done: http://take.ms/SFkX8

It is turned off by default because it requires additional permissions and I wanted to have the chance to explain to each user why those permission are needed before they see the "Read and change all your data" warning. The button in the popup menu only injects the tooltip in the current page as a result to an express user interaction (button click), thus it doesn't require the same permissions as the other method (injecting the tooltip automatically, without express user interaction).


The old version had it turned on by default, but it also came with a pretty scary warning when installing it for the first time, making plenty of people suspicious as to why an extension that's only supposed to resize your window requires the permission to "Read and change your data on all websites". (F.A.Q.: Why do you ask for permission to read, write and change the data on visited sites?)


I hope this helps!


Best Regards,

Ionuț

Answer
Completed

Hello Robert,


The "Toggle resize tooltip" button from the drop-down menu only enables (or disables) the tooltip for the current tab and only until you refresh the page or navigate to another page.

However, there is an option to permanently enable the tooltip for all pages. Here's how it's done: http://take.ms/SFkX8

It is turned off by default because it requires additional permissions and I wanted to have the chance to explain to each user why those permission are needed before they see the "Read and change all your data" warning. The button in the popup menu only injects the tooltip in the current page as a result to an express user interaction (button click), thus it doesn't require the same permissions as the other method (injecting the tooltip automatically, without express user interaction).


The old version had it turned on by default, but it also came with a pretty scary warning when installing it for the first time, making plenty of people suspicious as to why an extension that's only supposed to resize your window requires the permission to "Read and change your data on all websites". (F.A.Q.: Why do you ask for permission to read, write and change the data on visited sites?)


I hope this helps!


Best Regards,

Ionuț

that's exactly the option that i was looking for (http://take.ms/SFkX8), tyvm :)


imho, if one installs this extension and gets scared at that warning, then one should stop developing for web and start practicing any of the humanistic jobs out there :D but that's just me...